Virtual mailbox for a bank account: what banks accept and what gets rejected

Updated October 26, 2026 · Policies and prices checked against primary sources on that date · Affiliate disclosure

Most applicants who get rejected when using a virtual mailbox for a bank account make the same mistake: they enter their mailbox address into the physical or residential address field. Under federal banking regulations and USPS address-validation databases, banks can tell immediately when an address is a Commercial Mail Receiving Agency (CMRA). This guide explains why banks flag virtual mailboxes, what nine major U.S. banks and fintechs state in their official documentation, and how to pair a real physical address with a virtual mailbox mailing address properly.

Short version

✅ Usually accepted: using a virtual mailbox as your mailing address or card-delivery address (for paper statements, tax forms, checkbooks, and replacement debit or credit cards) once your physical address is on file.

❌ Rejected across the board: using a virtual mailbox or CMRA as a business's physical / operating address or as a beneficial owner's personal residential address. Mercury, Relay, Wells Fargo, and Stripe Issuing/Treasury explicitly prohibit virtual mailboxes and CMRAs in those fields.

⚠️ Varies by bank: your business's legal / registered address (Relay allows a registered agent address as the legal address if paired with a real operating address; Mercury and Wells Fargo prohibit virtual offices and mailboxes). Several major traditional banks (Chase, Bank of America, Capital One) require a verifiable physical street address and ban P.O. boxes on their public checklists without naming CMRAs explicitly.

Why banks flag virtual mailbox (CMRA) addresses

When a business or personal bank rejects a virtual mailbox address, it is rarely a manual judgment call by a branch banker. Two layers work together: a federal anti-money-laundering rule that requires a real physical location, and automated USPS address-intelligence tables that flag mail-receiving agencies in milliseconds.

1. The federal Customer Identification Program rule (31 CFR 1020.220)

Under Section 326 of the USA PATRIOT Act, implemented by FinCEN and federal banking regulators at 31 CFR § 1020.220, every U.S. bank and credit union must maintain a Customer Identification Program (CIP). Fintech platforms such as Mercury, Relay, Bluevine, and Novo are bound by the same rule through their FDIC-insured partner banks.

Before opening an account, 31 CFR § 1020.220(a)(2)(i)(A)(3) requires the bank to collect an address, defined specifically as:

A rented mailbox where you neither live nor run day-to-day operations is not a residence, a principal place of business, or a local office. That is why every bank asks where you physically live or operate, even if you never want paper mail sent there.

2. How banks detect a CMRA automatically (USPS DPV, RDI, and Form 1583)

A common myth on business forums is that formatting your mailbox address as Suite #204 instead of PMB #204 will make it look like an office lease. It does not. Banks and their KYC vendors (such as Alloy, Middesk, Socure, and LexisNexis) validate addresses against official United States Postal Service (USPS) Address Management System (AMS) data products:

The four address fields on a bank application

Online bank applications usually split your address into two to four distinct fields. Knowing which field is which prevents unnecessary account rejections:

1. Physical / operating address

Where your business physically conducts work—your home desk, a leased office, a storefront, or a warehouse. Do not enter a virtual mailbox here. Under 31 CFR 1020.220, this must be a genuine physical location.

2. Beneficial owner / personal residential address

Where each 10%+ or 25%+ owner and control person actually lives. Do not enter a virtual mailbox here. Banks cross-check this against credit bureaus, driver's licenses, and USPS RDI residential flags.

3. Legal / registered address

The entity address on your state formation filings. Rules vary: Relay explicitly allows a registered agent address here if you also give a real operating address, while Mercury and Wells Fargo reject virtual offices and commercial mailboxes.

4. Mailing / card-delivery address

Where the bank mails debit cards, credit cards, checkbooks, paper statements, and 1099/ tax notices. This is where a virtual mailbox belongs.

Bank-by-bank policy breakdown (9 banks & fintechs)

We reviewed the official public help centers, application checklists, and deposit disclosures for nine major U.S. business and personal banking providers. Not every bank publishes its internal fraud rules in full: fintechs and Wells Fargo explicitly name CMRAs, virtual mailboxes, and registered agents on their public help pages, whereas Chase, Bank of America, and Capital One state on their public pages that a physical street address is required and P.O. boxes are prohibited without using the acronym "CMRA."

Summary of published address rules across 9 U.S. banks and fintechs (checked October 2026). See the sourced table below for exact quotes and links.
Bank / Fintech Explicitly names CMRA / virtual mailbox? Physical / operating address Owner / personal residential address Mailing / card address
Mercury Yes (names CMRA, virtual address, mail center, virtual office, RA) Rejects P.O. box, virtual address, CMRA, mail center, and registered agent Rejects mail drops and CMRA / virtual address services Accepts any USPS-deliverable physical address for card delivery
Relay Yes (names virtual mailboxes, mailbox rental services, The UPS Store, RA) Rejects P.O. boxes, virtual mailboxes, mailbox rentals, and registered agents Rejects P.O. boxes, virtual mailboxes, and registered agents Allows separate mailing address; also allows registered agent as legal address
Stripe (Issuing, Treasury, Opal, Corporate Card) Yes (names CMRA, private mailbox, virtual address, RA; API code invalid_address_cmra_address) Rejects CMRA, virtual address, private mailbox, P.O. box, and registered agent Rejects CMRA, virtual address, private mailbox, and registered agent for account representative Public support address (support_address) can be a virtual mailbox
Wells Fargo Yes (names Virtual Addresses, Virtual Offices, PO/Commercial mailboxes, Private Mailboxes, RA) Rejects Registered Agents, Virtual Addresses, Virtual Office leases, and PO/Commercial mailboxes Personal FAQ states P.O. Box or Private Mailbox (PMB) cannot be used as residential address Allows separate mailing address once physical/residential address is verified
Bluevine Partially (names P.O. boxes and Registered Agent addresses; CMRA not named on checklist) Requires business physical address (home accepted); rejects P.O. boxes and Registered Agent addresses Requires owner residential address Separate mailing/card shipping address supported in account settings
Novo No (states U.S. physical address required under USA PATRIOT Act; CMRA not named) Requires U.S. physical address Requires U.S. physical residential address Separate mailing address can be used for correspondence
Chase No (public checklist requires business address & may require proof of physical business address; CMRA not named) Requires business address; may require proof of physical business address Requires address for each 10%+ owner (and government ID / secondary ID) Separate mailing address available on application / account profile
Bank of America No (public checklist requires valid, verifiable business street address, "no PO Boxes"; CMRA not named) Requires verifiable business street address (no P.O. Boxes) and date moved to address Requires residential address for each 25%+ beneficial owner and controlling manager Separate mailing address available
Capital One No (deposit rules & small-business FAQs state "street address (a post office box may not be used)"; CMRA not named) Requires U.S. street address (not a P.O. box); lists lease or Certificate of Occupancy among verification docs Requires physical residential street address (P.O. Box not valid) Application explicitly offers "Add mailing address (if different from residential address)"

What each institution's primary documentation says

Every entry below quotes the institution's own documentation or federal regulation directly. You can also filter the full list in our CMRA acceptance database.

InstitutionAddress fieldVerdictWhat the source saysSource (checked)
Stripe — Issuing, Treasury for platforms, Opal, Corporate Card
Payments / fintech
Business address and account representative addressRejects CMRA / virtual mailboxStripe's docs say these products enforce validations that the address is not a PO box, private mailbox, Commercial Mail Receiving Agency (CMRA) or registered agent address. New businesses are blocked from onboarding until they provide a valid physical address; existing accounts get a 30-day grace period before capabilities are disabled.
“Stripe can no longer allow addresses for registered agents, mailbox services, or virtual address services.”
Stripe Docs: Address validation (Issuing)
October 22, 2026
Stripe — Connect Accounts API (v1/v2) error codes
Payments / fintech
Account addressRejects CMRA / virtual mailboxA Stripe changelog entry dated 2026-09-30 adds the error code invalid_address_cmra_address, returned when an account's address is identified as a CMRA or virtual mailbox address; the account holder must update the address. A separate code covers registered agent addresses (resolvable with proof of address). The entry does not list which capabilities trigger the check, so treat it as 'may be rejected' for ordinary card payments.
“Returned when an account's address is identified as a Commercial Mail Receiving Agency (CMRA) or virtual mailbox address.”
Stripe changelog: address validation errors for CMRAs and registered agents
October 22, 2026
Mercury
Bank / fintech
Legal address, physical (day-to-day) address, beneficial owner home address (mailing/card address is separate)Accepted in some fields onlyMercury's Company address requirements article says the physical address (where you and your team work day-to-day) cannot be a P.O. box, virtual address, commercial mail receiving agency, mail center or registered agent address. Its legal-address article says P.O. boxes and virtual offices/workspaces are not accepted as the legal address, and its eligibility article says registered agent addresses, P.O. boxes and UPS Store addresses are not accepted for the principal place of business. Each beneficial owner's home address cannot be a PO box, mail drop, or commercial mail-receiving or virtual address service. The mailing address (where physical cards are sent) must be a physical, USPS-deliverable address; Mercury's help pages do not name CMRAs for that field.
“We don't accept a P.O. box, virtual address, commercial mail receiving agency, mail center, or registered agent address.”
Mercury Help: Company address requirements
Mercury Help: Updating your company's legal address
Mercury Help: Eligibility and requirements
Mercury Help: Fixing undeliverable addresses
October 26, 2026
Relay
Bank / fintech
Operating address and owner personal address (registered agent address OK as legal address)Accepted in some fields onlyRelay accepts a registered agent address as the business's legal address, but the operating address and each owner's personal address cannot be a registered agent address, PO box, or virtual mailbox / mailbox rental service (it names The UPS Store as an example).
“PO Boxes, virtual mailboxes, and mailbox rental services (such as The UPS Store) are not accepted as operating addresses.”
Relay Help: Using a Registered Agent Address and Operating Address
October 22, 2026
Wells Fargo (Business & Personal Checking)
Bank
Business physical address and personal residential addressRejects CMRA / virtual mailboxWells Fargo’s business account documentation checklist explicitly prohibits registered agents, virtual addresses, virtual offices (on leases), and P.O. or commercial mailboxes for the physical business address. For personal checking and savings accounts, Wells Fargo’s FAQ states it cannot accept a P.O. Box or Private Mailbox (PMB) as a residential address.
“Note: A physical address is required; Registered Agents, Virtual Addresses, and PO/Commercial mailboxes are not acceptable.”
Wells Fargo: Business Account Required Documents
Wells Fargo: Open or Close a Bank Account FAQs (Personal)
October 26, 2026
Bluevine
Bank / fintech
Business physical addressPhysical address required (CMRA not named)Bluevine's application checklist asks for the business's physical address (home address accepted) and says P.O. boxes and registered agent addresses are not accepted and will prevent the account from opening. The page we read does not mention CMRAs or virtual mailboxes by name. Ask Bluevine before using one.
“P.O. boxes and Registered Agent addresses are not accepted and will prevent you from opening an account.”
Bluevine Help: What documents are required to apply
October 22, 2026
Novo
Bank / fintech
Applicant U.S. physical addressPhysical address required (CMRA not named)Novo says it needs your U.S. physical address to confirm your identity under the USA PATRIOT Act. The article does not name CMRAs or virtual mailboxes.
“We need your US physical address to confirm your identity.”
Novo Help: Why do I need to provide a US physical address
October 22, 2026
Chase (Chase for Business)
Bank
Business address and 10%+ owner addressPhysical address required (CMRA not named)Chase’s business checking guides state that applicants must provide the business address and the address of each owner holding 10% or more of the company, and may need to provide proof of their physical business address. Chase’s public application checklists do not explicitly mention CMRAs or virtual mailboxes by name, though federal CIP rules (31 CFR 1020.220) require a physical location.
“You may also need to provide your assumed name application or filing receipt, proof of your physical business address or your business license.”
Chase for Business: How to Open a Business Checking Account
Chase for Business: Business Bank Account Information
October 26, 2026
Bank of America
Bank
Business street address and beneficial owner residential addressPhysical address required (CMRA not named)Bank of America requires a valid, verifiable company street address (no P.O. Boxes) and a residential address for each 25%+ beneficial owner and controlling manager. Its public application checklists do not explicitly mention CMRAs or virtual mailboxes by name.
“Business street address (no PO Boxes) and date moved to current address”
Bank of America Small Business: What You Need to Apply
Bank of America: How to Open a Business Bank Account
October 26, 2026
Capital One
Bank
Customer street address / residential address (separate mailing address allowed)Physical address required (CMRA not named)Capital One’s Rules Governing Deposit Accounts (Section 1.1, Customer Identification Program) and small-business application checklists require a U.S. street address and state that a post office box may not be used, listing a current lease or Certificate of Occupancy among verification documents. Application forms allow adding a separate mailing address if different from the residential/physical address. Capital One’s public disclosures do not mention CMRAs by name.
“When Customer opens an Account, Customer must provide Bank with Customer’s name, street address (a post office box may not be used), employer identification number (or social security number for sole proprietorships)”
Capital One: Rules Governing Deposit Accounts
Capital One Small Business: What You Need to Open an Account
October 26, 2026
Federal bank Customer Identification Program rule (31 CFR 1020.220)
Regulation
Address banks must collectPhysical address required (CMRA not named)U.S. banks' CIP must collect, for an individual, a residential or business street address, and for a non-individual (corporation, partnership, trust), a principal place of business, local office or other physical location. This is why bank KYC asks for a physical address in addition to any mailing address.
“For a person other than an individual (such as a corporation, partnership, or trust), a principal place of business, local office, or other physical location”
eCFR: 31 CFR 1020.220
October 26, 2026

Notes on traditional banks (Chase, Bank of America, Wells Fargo, Capital One)

How to pair a home or lease address with a virtual mailbox

If you work from home, travel frequently, or run a remote LLC, you don't need to rent a brick-and-mortar office just to open a business or personal bank account. Every bank in the table above allows a home-based business to use the owner's real residential street address as the physical/operating address while routing mail to a separate mailing address.

The compliant two-address setup:

  1. Physical / operating address (private, for bank KYC only): Enter the real street address where you live and work (your house or apartment) or a genuine commercial space you lease. This satisfies 31 CFR 1020.220 and passes USPS DPV/RDI checks.
  2. Owner residential address (private, for bank KYC only): Enter your actual home street address.
  3. Mailing / card-shipping address (public-facing / operational mail): Enter your virtual mailbox address here so paper statements, checkbooks, debit cards, and vendor correspondence go to your virtual mailbox instead of your home mailbox.

Step-by-step checklist before you apply

  1. Set up your virtual mailbox and complete USPS Form 1583 first. A virtual mailbox cannot legally receive or scan mail in your name or your LLC's name until your notarized or witnessed PS Form 1583 and two IDs are approved and logged in the USPS CMRA database.
  2. Keep one proof-of-address document ready for your real physical address. If the bank's automated check asks for address verification, you will need a document dated within the last 60 days (or 6 months at Stripe) showing your name or your entity's name at your physical street address. Wells Fargo, Mercury, and Stripe commonly accept:
    • A utility bill (electricity, water, gas, or fixed internet—most banks reject mobile phone bills)
    • A signed residential or commercial lease agreement (not a virtual office agreement)
    • A property tax statement, mortgage statement, or real estate deed
    • A bank or credit card statement at your physical address
  3. Match your business name on your virtual mailbox plan. If you are opening a business bank account for an LLC or corporation and want checks or debit cards mailed to your virtual mailbox under the company name, make sure your mailbox plan includes a business recipient name (for example, iPostal1's $9.99 personal plan does not include a company name; you need its $14.99+ Business plan, whereas Traveling Mailbox and Stable allow business names on their entry plans).
  4. Never disguise a PMB as an apartment or suite on the physical-address line. Entering a CMRA street address in the physical-address field will still trigger the USPS DPV CMRA flag and can cause your application to be denied for mismatched or unverifiable KYC information.
  5. If you are a U.S. expat or full-time RVer without a traditional lease: Mercury's eligibility guide notes that non-U.S. founders living abroad can apply using their actual foreign residential/operating address (except in restricted jurisdictions) rather than faking a U.S. physical address with a mail drop. Stable's help article on Mercury likewise advises founders to enter their real working address as the legal/physical address and use their Stable virtual mailbox strictly as the mailing address.

Virtual mailbox provider comparison for bank accounts

Once your bank account is open with a compliant physical address, any of the six providers below can serve as your mailing address. All prices and plan allowances below were checked directly on each provider's pricing page on October 26, 2026.

Entry plans as published on each provider's pricing page. Prices exclude tax. “Varies” means the price depends on the address/location you pick.
ProviderEntry planFrom (per month)IncludedOpening & scanningRegistered agent add-onSource (checked)
Traveling MailboxBasic$15.0040 incoming envelopes + 35 page scans / month; 3 recipientsPage scans included in plan (35 on Basic); $0.50 per page over allotment; $0.25 per extra envelopeNot offered / not statedPricing page
October 22, 2026
iPostal1Virtual Business Address (30 items)$14.99 varies30 mail items / month; 1 company name + up to 6 recipient namesNot included: $2.25 per scan order (up to 10 pages), then $0.25/page; prepaid bundles from $10 for 5 orders$99/year add-on with any business plan, in listed states only (AK, AL, AZ, CA, CO, DC, DE, FL, GA, IL, MA, MN, MO, MS, NC, NJ, NM, NV, NY, SC, TX, UT, VA, WA, WY as of check date)Pricing page
October 22, 2026
Anytime MailboxVaries by location (each mail center sets its own plans)$9.99 variesSet per location; shown before signupPlan- and location-dependentNot offered / not statedPricing page
October 22, 2026
Earth Class Mail (now LegalZoom Virtual Mail)Starter MailBox$39.005 mail items digitized / month (junk excluded); 2 recipientsIncluded up to plan limit for documents of 20 pages or lessNot offered / not statedPricing page
October 22, 2026
StableGrow$59.0030 pieces of mail / month (360/yr on annual); 1 user, unlimited recipientsFree open & scan on request or automatically$25/month per state, all 50 states + DC + Puerto RicoPricing page
October 22, 2026
PostScan MailStarter$10.00 varies30 items / month; 1 recipient (monthly)$2.00 per envelope up to 10 pages, then $0.25/page (Standard plan includes 5 free open & scans)Not offered / not statedPricing page
October 22, 2026

Provider details

Traveling Mailbox

  • Entry: Basic, from $15.00/mo
  • Included: 40 incoming envelopes + 35 page scans / month; 3 recipients
  • Scanning: Page scans included in plan (35 on Basic); $0.50 per page over allotment; $0.25 per extra envelope
  • Forwarding: Postage + $2 per shipment (not per piece)
  • Check deposit: $4.95 per check + postage
  • Business names: Business names can be added to any plan
  • Annual: Annual plans: 2 months free
Other plans
  • Extended: $25.00/mo — 100 envelopes, 80 page scans, 5 recipients
  • Small Business: $55.00/mo — 200 envelopes, 180 page scans, 10 recipients

Unused scans roll over on Extended and Small Business plans. Envelopes held 30 days free, then shredded unless held ($1/envelope/month). Home base address in Sanford, NC; other locations available.

Visit Traveling Mailbox → Source, checked October 22, 2026

iPostal1

  • Entry: Virtual Business Address (30 items), from $14.99/mo (varies by location)
  • Included: 30 mail items / month; 1 company name + up to 6 recipient names
  • Scanning: Not included: $2.25 per scan order (up to 10 pages), then $0.25/page; prepaid bundles from $10 for 5 orders
  • Forwarding: Real-time carrier postage shown at checkout; letter consolidation free, $1.95 per package consolidated
  • Check deposit: $4.95 to deposit up to 5 checks, plus scan and trackable shipping (most locations)
  • Business names: Business plans include 1 company name (personal plans include none)
  • Registered agent: $99/year add-on with any business plan, in listed states only (AK, AL, AZ, CA, CO, DC, DE, FL, GA, IL, MA, MN, MO, MS, NC, NJ, NM, NV, NY, SC, TX, UT, VA, WA, WY as of check date)
  • Annual: Yearly from $149/yr for the 30-item business plan
Other plans
  • Business 60 items: $19.99/mo — 60 items/month
  • Business 120 items: $29.99/mo — 120 items/month
  • Business 240 items: $44.99/mo — 240 items/month
  • Personal Virtual Mailing Address (no company name): $9.99/mo — 30 items/month

Prices are 'starting at' and vary by Standard/Select/Premium/Prestige location, plus tax. $0.35 per item over plan maximum.

Visit iPostal1 → Source, checked October 22, 2026

Anytime Mailbox

  • Entry: Varies by location (each mail center sets its own plans), from $9.99/mo (varies by location)
  • Included: Set per location; shown before signup
  • Scanning: Plan- and location-dependent
  • Forwarding: Plan- and location-dependent
  • Check deposit: Select locations only

Homepage states 'Plans from $9.99 per month' and its FAQ says the cheapest plans are $4.99 and some vanity addresses cost up to $50. Its own FAQ says it does not recommend using the address as an official business address for LLC registration, IRS or banking without checking with the state/institution first.

Visit Anytime Mailbox → Source, checked October 22, 2026

Earth Class Mail (now LegalZoom Virtual Mail)

  • Entry: Starter MailBox, from $39.00/mo
  • Included: 5 mail items digitized / month (junk excluded); 2 recipients
  • Scanning: Included up to plan limit for documents of 20 pages or less
  • Forwarding: Domestic: $1.25 per shipment + postage + $1 per item; international $5 per shipment + postage + $1 per item
  • Check deposit: Listed as $10 per deposit or included with a $39/month check-deposit subscription
  • Business names: Business address product
Other plans
  • Essentials MailBox: $59.00/mo — 25 items/month, 5 recipients
  • Premium MailBox: $119.00/mo — 50 items/month, 20 recipients

earthclassmail.com/pricing now 301-redirects to LegalZoom's Virtual Mail page, which says Earth Class Mail is now part of LegalZoom. 53 addresses across 44 states. No in-person pickup. Higher tiers (100 and 250 items) are listed but their prices were not legible in our capture, so they are omitted.

Visit Earth Class Mail → Source, checked October 22, 2026

Stable

  • Entry: Grow, from $59.00/mo
  • Included: 30 pieces of mail / month (360/yr on annual); 1 user, unlimited recipients
  • Scanning: Free open & scan on request or automatically
  • Forwarding: Cost of postage
  • Check deposit: Separate add-on; volume-based plans 'as low as $3/check'
  • Business names: Multiple business recipients at the same address
  • Registered agent: $25/month per state, all 50 states + DC + Puerto Rico
  • Annual: $49/month billed yearly
Other plans
  • Scale: $99.00/mo — 50 pieces/month; $83/mo billed yearly

Advertises 50% off Grow for 1 year for businesses under $1M revenue or using the address to incorporate. $3 per piece over plan limit. Stable's own help center says its mailing address counts as a mail-forwarding address and should NOT be used as your Mercury legal address.

Visit Stable → Source, checked October 22, 2026

PostScan Mail

  • Entry: Starter, from $10.00/mo (varies by location)
  • Included: 30 items / month; 1 recipient (monthly)
  • Scanning: $2.00 per envelope up to 10 pages, then $0.25/page (Standard plan includes 5 free open & scans)
  • Forwarding: $2.00 first item, then $0.50 per additional item, plus shipping
  • Business names: Pricing page says plans suit personal and LLC business use
  • Annual: Annual billing: 2 months free
Other plans
  • Standard: $20.00/mo — As low as $20/mo; 60 items, 5 free open & scans, 2 recipients
  • Premium: $30.00/mo — As low as $30/mo; 120 items, 10 free open & scans, 4 recipients

Prices shown as 'as low as' and vary by address location.

Visit PostScan Mail → Source, checked October 22, 2026

How to choose a virtual mailbox for banking mail

Banking mail is different from ordinary marketing mail: you will receive time-sensitive replacement debit and credit cards, checkbooks, paper checks from customers, and IRS/state tax forms. Compare providers on four specifics:

  1. Reliable package and card forwarding: Banks mail replacement debit and credit cards in plain first-class envelopes or Priority/FedEx flat mailers. Traveling Mailbox charges postage plus a flat $2 per shipment (not per envelope), and Stable forwards at the cost of postage. PostScan Mail charges $2.00 for the first item plus $0.50 per additional item on top of shipping.
  2. Check deposit fees (if clients mail you paper checks): You can either have the provider scan the check image (so you can try mobile deposit or follow up) or use the provider's mail-in check deposit service. Traveling Mailbox charges $4.95 per check plus postage; iPostal1 charges $4.95 for up to 5 checks (plus scan and trackable shipping at most locations); LegalZoom Virtual Mail (Earth Class Mail) lists $10 per deposit or a $39/month check-deposit subscription; and Stable offers volume-based check deposit add-ons starting as low as $3/check.
  3. Included page scans vs. per-scan fees: Bank statements, IRS notices, and compliance letters are multi-page documents. Traveling Mailbox includes 35 page scans per month on its $15 Basic plan, and Stable includes unlimited open-and-scan within your monthly piece allotment. At iPostal1 ($2.25 per scan order up to 10 pages) and PostScan Mail ($2.00 per envelope up to 10 pages on Starter), every opened envelope adds to your monthly bill.
  4. Company name support: Ensure your LLC or corporate name is listed on your PS Form 1583 and included in your plan tier so the mail center does not return checks or bank cards addressed to your business.

Frequently asked questions

Can I open a business bank account using only a virtual mailbox address?

No. Under the federal Customer Identification Program rule (31 CFR 1020.220), U.S. banks must collect a principal place of business, local office, or other physical location for a business entity, plus a residential street address for beneficial owners. You can use a virtual mailbox as your separate mailing or card-delivery address, but you still need a real physical operating and residential address for KYC.

How do banks know my address is a virtual mailbox if I write Suite instead of PMB?

Banks validate addresses against the USPS Address Management System using Delivery Point Validation (DPV) and the Residential Delivery Indicator (RDI). USPS tags the entire street address and ZIP+4 delivery point of every registered Commercial Mail Receiving Agency (CMRA) in its DPV CMRA table. Writing Suite or Apt instead of PMB does not change the delivery-point flag.

Which banks explicitly ban virtual mailboxes as a physical address?

In the official help centers and checklists we reviewed, Mercury, Relay, Wells Fargo, and Stripe (for Issuing, Treasury, Opal, and Corporate Card) explicitly name and prohibit virtual mailboxes, virtual addresses, or CMRAs for the business physical/operating address and owner residential address. Bluevine explicitly prohibits P.O. boxes and registered agent addresses.

Do Chase, Bank of America, and Capital One allow a virtual mailbox?

Their public application checklists do not use the acronym CMRA, but all three require a physical street address under federal CIP rules: Chase states applicants may need proof of their physical business address, Bank of America requires a verifiable business street address (no P.O. Boxes) and owner residential addresses, and Capital One’s deposit rules require a street address (no P.O. box) while allowing a separate mailing address. Treat virtual mailboxes as mailing-address-only at all three banks.

Can I use my home address as my physical address and a virtual mailbox as my mailing address?

Yes. That is the standard setup recommended by fintechs and virtual mailbox providers alike (including Stable’s official guide for Mercury). Your home address satisfies the private KYC physical and residential address check, while your virtual mailbox receives paper statements, checks, and debit cards.

What documents do banks accept as proof of a physical address?

When a bank requests manual address verification, it typically asks for a utility bill (electricity, gas, water, or fixed internet) dated within the last 60 days, an active residential or commercial lease agreement (Wells Fargo explicitly notes virtual office leases are not acceptable), a property tax statement, a mortgage statement, or a real estate deed.

Can a virtual mailbox deposit paper checks into my bank account?

Several providers offer mail-in or check-deposit add-ons, or they can scan the check so you can follow up with the payer. As of October 2026, Traveling Mailbox charges $4.95 per check plus postage, iPostal1 charges $4.95 for up to 5 checks (plus scan and trackable shipping at most locations), LegalZoom Virtual Mail lists $10 per deposit or a $39/month subscription, and Stable offers volume-based check deposit plans starting as low as $3/check.

Sources

All primary sources checked October 22–26, 2026. Provider pricing pages are linked directly in the comparison table above.

This guide is independent research, not legal, tax, or banking compliance advice. Banks update their onboarding rules frequently; always confirm current requirements directly with your bank before applying.