Chase Business virtual address rules: physical address verification vs. mailing address
Can you open a Chase Business Complete Banking® account using a virtual mailbox or CMRA address? Unlike fintechs such as Mercury and Relay, Chase's public business checking guides do not use the acronym "CMRA" or "virtual mailbox." However, Chase is bound by the federal Customer Identification Program rule (31 CFR § 1020.220), collects the residential address of every 10%+ owner and authorized user, and warns on its official checklist that you may need to provide "proof of your physical business address." This page details what Chase's primary documentation requires, who can apply online versus in a branch, and how to use a virtual mailbox as a separate mailing address.
Short version (Chase for Business guides, checked October 27, 2026)
🏢 Business physical address: Chase requires your business address and states you may need to provide proof of your physical business address (or certification that an out-of-state entity is entitled to operate in the state where the business address is located). Do not enter a virtual mailbox or registered agent address as your physical operating location.
🏠 Owner & user residential addresses: Chase requires a residential address for every owner holding 10% or more of the business (25%+ for business credit cards or safe deposit boxes) and for any non-signer authorized users.
📬 Mailing address: Once your real physical business address (such as your home or leased office) and owner residential addresses are verified, you can use a CMRA virtual mailbox as your separate mailing address for paper statements, checkbooks, and correspondence.
Chase Business address fields and requirements
Based on Chase's How to Open a Business Checking Account and Business Bank Account Information checklists (checked October 27, 2026), here is how Chase handles each address type:
| Chase field | Who it applies to | Published Chase requirement | Virtual mailbox / CMRA fit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Business address (physical location) | The applying LLC, corporation, partnership, or sole proprietorship | Required for all applicants; Chase notes you may need to provide "proof of your physical business address" and operational details (number of locations, where products/services are sold) | No for physical address. Use your actual office, storefront, or home office; virtual mailboxes are flagged as CMRAs in USPS DPV data |
| 10%+ owner residential address | Every individual owner, member, or shareholder with 10%+ ownership (25%+ for credit cards / safe deposit boxes) | Requires full legal name, residential address, date of birth, SSN/ITIN, citizenship, and two forms of ID (primary government photo ID + secondary ID such as utility bill or embossed card) | No. Must be the owner's actual residential address; Chase notes proof of address may be required |
| Senior manager / key role residential address | Senior managers, Board of Directors, or key control persons (corporations & associations) and non-signer authorized users | Requires full legal name as on government ID, residential address, and date of birth | No. Must be a residential address |
| Separate mailing address | Where paper statements, checkbooks, and cards are delivered | Can be set separately from the physical business location | Yes. Once physical KYC is satisfied, a virtual mailbox with a completed USPS Form 1583 works for business mail |
What Chase's official documentation says (exact quotes)
Every quote below was verified on Chase's public business banking pages on October 27, 2026:
1. Proof of physical business address
From How to open a business checking account:
"You may also need to provide your assumed name application or filing receipt, proof of your physical business address or your business license."
2. Personal identification and proof of address
From Get ready to open your business checking account:
"Two forms of ID are required. One must be a primary or government-issued ID. ... Secondary ID Examples: Credit/debit card with embossed name, employer ID, utility bill, etc. Credit/debit cards are not a valid form of ID for non-U.S. citizens. Proof of address or date of birth may be required."
3. 10%+ ownership residential address threshold
From the same Chase checklist (under LLCs, Partnerships, and Corporations):
"For all owners/limited partners with 10% or more ownership: Legal first name and last name; Legal business name—only used when an owner of the LLC is another entity/trust; Residential address—business address only required if owner is a business; Percentage of ownership; Date of birth; Tax identification number (e.g. SSN, ITIN, FTIN); Country of citizenship."
Note that while the standard federal beneficial ownership threshold is 25%, Chase collects residential addresses for all 10%+ owners on business checking accounts (and 25%+ for Business Credit Cards or Safe Deposit Boxes).
Sourced Chase entry from our database
| Institution | Address field | Verdict | What the source says | Source (checked) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chase (Chase for Business) Bank | Business address and 10%+ owner address | Physical address required (CMRA not named) | Chase’s business checking guides state that applicants must provide the business address and the address of each owner holding 10% or more of the company, and may need to provide proof of their physical business address. Chase’s public application checklists do not explicitly mention CMRAs or virtual mailboxes by name, though federal CIP rules (31 CFR 1020.220) require a physical location.“You may also need to provide your assumed name application or filing receipt, proof of your physical business address or your business license.” | Chase for Business: How to Open a Business Checking Account Chase for Business: Business Bank Account Information October 27, 2026 |
| Federal bank Customer Identification Program rule (31 CFR 1020.220) Regulation | Address banks must collect | Physical address required (CMRA not named) | U.S. banks' CIP must collect, for an individual, a residential or business street address, and for a non-individual (corporation, partnership, trust), a principal place of business, local office or other physical location. This is why bank KYC asks for a physical address in addition to any mailing address.“For a person other than an individual (such as a corporation, partnership, or trust), a principal place of business, local office, or other physical location” | eCFR: 31 CFR 1020.220 October 27, 2026 |
Applying online vs. in a Chase branch (entity rules)
Chase's Business Bank Account Information page sets strict rules on which business structures can apply online versus which must visit one of Chase's 5,000+ branches in person:
- Eligible to apply online:
- Sole proprietorships with one owner
- Single-member and single-manager LLCs with one authorizing representative
- Privately held S- and C-Corporations with one authorizing representative
- Must apply in person at a Chase branch:
- Multi-member or multi-manager LLCs, or LLCs with multiple authorizing representatives
- LLCs or corporations owned by another business entity
- General partnerships, limited partnerships (LPs), LLPs, and LLLPs
- Nonprofit corporations and nonprofit LLCs
- Spousal sole proprietorships, sole proprietorship living trusts, and sole proprietorships with a Power of Attorney
Out-of-state LLCs (Delaware, Wyoming, New Jersey rules)
Two rules on Chase's LLC documentation checklist frequently catch remote founders off guard:
- Out-of-state formation vs. operating state: Chase states:
If you form a Delaware LLC or Wyoming LLC while living and operating in California, New York, or Texas, Chase will ask for foreign qualification documentation showing your LLC is registered to do business in the state where your physical business address sits."Note: If your business is organized in another state, but operates in the state in which the account is opened, documentation is required to certify that the business is entitled to operate in the state in which the business address is located."
- No state website validation for Delaware or New Jersey: For most states, Chase allows website validation from the state or county to confirm your LLC is active and in good standing. However, Chase explicitly notes: "Website validation from state or county (all states except Delaware and New Jersey); validation must indicate valid status (e.g. active, in good standing, not expired, in compliance) and be available without a fee." If your LLC is formed in Delaware or New Jersey, you must provide a certified or state-stamped copy of your Certificate of Formation (and a Certificate of Good Standing if registered more than one year ago).
Why Chase verifies physical addresses (31 CFR 1020.220)
Under the federal Customer Identification Program rule (31 CFR § 1020.220), every national bank must collect a "principal place of business, local office, or other physical location" for a business entity, and a residential street address for individuals. Because USPS publishes a monthly Delivery Point Validation (DPV) CMRA table identifying every registered virtual mailbox provider, banks and their address-verification systems can see when a street address is a commercial mail drop. For a comparison across 9 major banks, see our virtual mailbox for a bank account guide.
Virtual mailbox providers for Chase mailing addresses
Once your Chase Business checking account is opened with your real physical operating address (such as your home or office) and your 10%+ owner residential addresses, any of the virtual mailbox providers below can serve as your business mailing address for paper statements, checkbooks, and vendor checks. All prices were checked on the providers' own pricing pages on the dates shown.
| Provider | Entry plan | From (per month) | Included | Opening & scanning | Registered agent add-on | Source (checked) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Traveling Mailbox | Basic | $15.00 | 40 incoming envelopes + 35 page scans / month; 3 recipients | Page scans included in plan (35 on Basic); $0.50 per page over allotment; $0.25 per extra envelope | Not offered / not stated | Pricing page October 22, 2026 |
| iPostal1 | Virtual Business Address (30 items) | $14.99 varies | 30 mail items / month; 1 company name + up to 6 recipient names | Not included: $2.25 per scan order (up to 10 pages), then $0.25/page; prepaid bundles from $10 for 5 orders | $99/year add-on with any business plan, in listed states only (AK, AL, AZ, CA, CO, DC, DE, FL, GA, IL, MA, MN, MO, MS, NC, NJ, NM, NV, NY, SC, TX, UT, VA, WA, WY as of check date) | Pricing page October 27, 2026 |
| Anytime Mailbox | Varies by location (each mail center sets its own plans) | $9.99 varies | Set per location; shown before signup | Plan- and location-dependent | Not offered / not stated | Pricing page October 22, 2026 |
| Earth Class Mail (now LegalZoom Virtual Mail) | Starter MailBox | $39.00 | 5 mail items digitized / month (junk excluded); 2 recipients | Included up to plan limit for documents of 20 pages or less | Not offered / not stated | Pricing page October 22, 2026 |
| Stable | Grow | $59.00 | 30 pieces of mail / month (360/yr on annual); 1 user, unlimited recipients | Free open & scan on request or automatically | $25/month per state, all 50 states + DC + Puerto Rico | Pricing page October 27, 2026 |
| PostScan Mail | Starter | $10.00 varies | 30 items / month; 1 recipient (monthly) | $2.00 per envelope up to 10 pages, then $0.25/page (Standard plan includes 5 free open & scans) | Not offered / not stated | Pricing page October 22, 2026 |
Checklist before applying to Chase for Business
- Physical business address: Use your real office or home street address where you work—not a virtual mailbox, P.O. box, or registered agent address. Keep a utility bill or lease handy as proof of address.
- 10%+ owner details: Gather the residential street address, SSN/ITIN, date of birth, citizenship, and two IDs for every owner with 10% or more ownership.
- Formation & foreign-qualification papers: Have your certified Articles of Organization / Certificate of Formation, EIN confirmation, and (if formed out of state) proof your LLC is qualified to operate in your physical address's state.
- Virtual mailbox setup: Complete USPS Form 1583 with your LLC's legal name included on the mailbox plan (for example, iPostal1's $14.99/mo Business plan or Traveling Mailbox's $15/mo Basic plan) before routing Chase correspondence or customer checks there.
Frequently asked questions
Can I open a Chase Business Complete Banking account with a virtual mailbox address?
Treat a virtual mailbox as a mailing address only at Chase. Under federal Customer Identification Program rules (31 CFR 1020.220), Chase must collect a physical business location, and Chase's business checking guide states that applicants may need to provide proof of their physical business address. Use your real physical operating address (such as your home or leased office) as the business physical address, and add your virtual mailbox as a separate mailing address.
Does Chase explicitly mention CMRAs on its public business checking checklist?
No. Unlike Mercury, Relay, or Wells Fargo, Chase's public 'How to open a business checking account' and 'Business bank account information' pages do not use the acronym CMRA. Instead, they require your business address, require the residential address of every 10%+ owner and authorized user, and state that you may need to provide proof of your physical business address.
Whose residential addresses does Chase require when opening an LLC account?
Chase's business account checklist requires the residential address, legal name, date of birth, tax ID (SSN/ITIN), citizenship, and ownership percentage for every owner holding 10% or more of the business (25% or more when applying for a Business Credit Card or Safe Deposit Box), as well as the residential address of any non-signer authorized account users.
Can I apply for a Chase Business checking account online?
Chase allows online applications for sole proprietorships with one owner, single-member and single-manager LLCs with one authorizing representative, and privately held S- and C-corporations with one authorizing representative. Multi-member or multi-manager LLCs, partnerships, nonprofits, and LLCs owned by another business must apply in person at a Chase branch.
What happens if my LLC was formed in Delaware or Wyoming but operates in another state?
Chase's LLC documentation checklist notes: 'If your business is organized in another state, but operates in the state in which the account is opened, documentation is required to certify that the business is entitled to operate in the state in which the business address is located' (such as a foreign qualification filing). In addition, Chase notes that website validation from a state or county is available in all states except Delaware and New Jersey, so Delaware LLCs must bring certified formation documents.
What personal IDs and proof of address does Chase ask for?
Chase requires two forms of personal ID. Primary government-issued ID examples include a state driver's license, state ID card, passport, or Permanent Resident Card (military IDs cannot be scanned for online applications). Secondary ID examples include an embossed credit/debit card (U.S. citizens only), employer ID, or utility bill, and Chase notes that proof of address or date of birth may be required.
Can I use my virtual mailbox to receive Chase business debit cards and checkbooks?
Once your physical business address and 10%+ owner residential addresses are verified on file, a separate mailing address can receive paper statements, checkbooks, and correspondence. Make sure your virtual mailbox plan includes your LLC's legal name on USPS Form 1583 so mail addressed to the company is delivered cleanly.
Sources
All Chase and federal sources were checked on October 27, 2026.
- Chase for Business, How to open a business checking account: chase.com/business/knowledge-center/start/opening-a-business-checking-account
- Chase for Business, Get ready to open your business checking account (Business Bank Account Information): chase.com/business/resources/business-bank-account-information
- 31 CFR § 1020.220, Customer identification program requirements for banks: ecfr.gov