Traveling Mailbox vs iPostal1: sourced pricing, scan allowances, and LLC comparison

Updated October 27, 2026 · Traveling Mailbox and iPostal1 official pricing pages, USPS DMM 508.1.8, and bank/state policies checked on the dates shown · Affiliate disclosure

Traveling Mailbox and iPostal1 are two of the most popular virtual mailbox providers in the United States, and their advertised business entry prices look nearly identical on the surface: $15.00/month for Traveling Mailbox's Basic plan versus from $14.99/month for iPostal1's Virtual Business Address plan (or $9.99/month for a personal plan with no company name). Once you open your first envelope, however, the two pricing models diverge sharply. Traveling Mailbox includes 35 page scans per month in its $15 plan, whereas iPostal1 charges $2.25 per scan order (up to 10 pages) while offering a larger location network and a $99/year registered agent add-on in 25 jurisdictions. This guide compares every verified number from each provider's own pricing page.

Quick verdict (from official pricing pages, checked October 2026)

📄 Pick Traveling Mailbox ($15/mo flat) if: you open and read your mail every month. Its $15 Basic plan includes 40 incoming envelopes, 35 page scans, 3 recipients, and business names at no extra monthly tier—making it cheaper as soon as you scan 1 to 2 letters a month.

📍 Pick iPostal1 (from $14.99/mo business / $9.99/mo personal) if: you want a specific city/street address from a massive U.S. location network, rarely ask for envelopes to be opened and scanned, or want its $99/year registered agent add-on in one of 25 listed states.

⚖️ Bank & LLC reality for both: both are USPS-registered CMRAs requiring USPS Form 1583. Neither provider's mailbox address will pass as a physical operating address at Mercury, Relay, or Wells Fargo, or as a standalone registered agent address.

Side-by-side comparison table (verified pricing)

Every figure in the table below was verified directly on Traveling Mailbox's pricing page (checked October 22, 2026) and iPostal1's business pricing page (checked October 27, 2026).

Traveling Mailbox vs. iPostal1 feature-by-feature comparison from each provider's pricing page.
Feature Traveling Mailbox iPostal1
Entry plan for an LLC (with business name) Basic: $15.00/month (flat price across locations) Virtual Business Address 30: from $14.99/month (varies by Standard/Select/Premium/Prestige location)
Personal entry plan (no business name) Same Basic plan ($15.00/month) Personal Virtual Mailing Address: from $9.99/month (30 items; no company name allowed)
Annual plan discount 2 months free on annual billing ($150/yr on Basic) From $149/year on the 30-item Virtual Business Address plan
Monthly incoming mail allowance (entry) 40 incoming envelopes / month ($0.25 per extra envelope) 30 mail items / month ($0.35 per item over plan maximum)
Included open & page scans (entry) 35 page scans / month included ($0.50 per extra page); unused scans roll over on Extended & Small Business plans 0 included: $2.25 per scan order (up to 10 pages, then $0.25/page); prepaid bundles from $10 for 5 orders
Recipients & business names 3 recipients on Basic (5 on Extended, 10 on Small Business); business names can be added to any plan 1 company name + up to 6 recipient names on Business plans (0 company names on Personal plans)
Mail forwarding fee Carrier postage + $2.00 per shipment (not per piece) Real-time carrier postage shown at checkout; letter consolidation free, $1.95 per package consolidated
Check deposit service $4.95 per check + postage (mailed to your bank) $4.95 for up to 5 checks + scan fee + trackable shipping (most locations)
Registered agent add-on Not listed on pricing page $99/year add-on with any business plan in 25 listed jurisdictions (incl. DE, WY, FL, TX, NV, WA, CO, NY, CA, GA, IL)
Mail storage / holding rule Envelopes held 30 days free, then shredded unless held ($1/envelope/month) Varies by item type and plan rules
USPS CMRA & Form 1583 required? Yes (PS Form 1583 + 2 IDs) Yes (PS Form 1583 + 2 IDs)
Check current plans Visit Traveling Mailbox → Visit iPostal1 →

All plan tiers compared: Traveling Mailbox vs. iPostal1

Both providers offer higher-volume tiers if your business receives more than 30 to 40 pieces of mail a month:

The real cost difference: included page scans vs. per-scan fees

Every virtual mailbox scans the outside of your incoming envelope so you can see the sender in your online inbox. The price gap appears when you click "Open & Scan" to read the PDF inside:

LLC business names and registered agent add-ons

If you are setting up a virtual mailbox for an LLC, keep two rules in mind:

  1. Company name on the mailbox: Traveling Mailbox allows you to add a business name on any plan (starting at $15/mo). iPostal1 requires a Virtual Business Address plan ($14.99+/mo) to include a company name.
  2. Registered agent service: Neither provider's virtual mailbox PMB can serve as your LLC's statutory registered agent address on its own. However, iPostal1 offers a $99/year registered agent add-on inside your Digital Mailbox with any business plan across 25 listed jurisdictions: AK, AL, AZ, CA, CO, DC, DE, FL, GA, IL, MA, MN, MO, MS, NC, NJ, NM, NV, NY, SC, TX, UT, VA, WA, and WY (as of October 27, 2026). That add-on gives your LLC a separate compliant registered agent office in that state. Traveling Mailbox's pricing page does not list a registered agent add-on, so you pair Traveling Mailbox with an external registered agent service.

Forwarding shipments and check deposit fees

Do banks or Stripe prefer one over the other?

No. From a compliance and KYC standpoint, both Traveling Mailbox and iPostal1 are identical:

How they compare with all 6 virtual mailbox providers

Want to compare Traveling Mailbox and iPostal1 alongside Anytime Mailbox (see our Anytime Mailbox vs. iPostal1 guide), Stable, PostScan Mail, and LegalZoom Virtual Mail? Here is the full sourced comparison table:

Entry plans as published on each provider's pricing page. Prices exclude tax. “Varies” means the price depends on the address/location you pick.
ProviderEntry planFrom (per month)IncludedOpening & scanningRegistered agent add-onSource (checked)
Traveling MailboxBasic$15.0040 incoming envelopes + 35 page scans / month; 3 recipientsPage scans included in plan (35 on Basic); $0.50 per page over allotment; $0.25 per extra envelopeNot offered / not statedPricing page
October 22, 2026
iPostal1Virtual Business Address (30 items)$14.99 varies30 mail items / month; 1 company name + up to 6 recipient namesNot included: $2.25 per scan order (up to 10 pages), then $0.25/page; prepaid bundles from $10 for 5 orders$99/year add-on with any business plan, in listed states only (AK, AL, AZ, CA, CO, DC, DE, FL, GA, IL, MA, MN, MO, MS, NC, NJ, NM, NV, NY, SC, TX, UT, VA, WA, WY as of check date)Pricing page
October 27, 2026
Anytime MailboxVaries by location (each mail center sets its own plans)$9.99 variesSet per location; shown before signupPlan- and location-dependentNot offered / not statedPricing page
October 22, 2026
Earth Class Mail (now LegalZoom Virtual Mail)Starter MailBox$39.005 mail items digitized / month (junk excluded); 2 recipientsIncluded up to plan limit for documents of 20 pages or lessNot offered / not statedPricing page
October 22, 2026
StableGrow$59.0030 pieces of mail / month (360/yr on annual); 1 user, unlimited recipientsFree open & scan on request or automatically$25/month per state, all 50 states + DC + Puerto RicoPricing page
October 27, 2026
PostScan MailStarter$10.00 varies30 items / month; 1 recipient (monthly)$2.00 per envelope up to 10 pages, then $0.25/page (Standard plan includes 5 free open & scans)Not offered / not statedPricing page
October 22, 2026
Escapees Mail Forwarding ServiceCategory A (All Mail Types), billed annuallyAnnual only: $110 or $125/yr (page lists both)All mail forwarded; personal service address for domicile in Texas, Florida or South DakotaMail scanning add-on: $10/month or $100/yearNot offered / not statedPricing page
October 28, 2026
Americas MailboxBronze membershipAnnual: $169.99/yr + taxUp to 7 pieces of mail per year; for vehicle registration / home baseTitanium plan includes exterior scans; interior scans for an extra fee'Resident Agent Service Available' on Platinum and Titanium (price not stated)Pricing page
October 28, 2026

Frequently asked questions

Is Traveling Mailbox or iPostal1 cheaper for an LLC?

It depends on whether you open and scan your mail. For an LLC (which requires a company name on the mailbox), iPostal1's Virtual Business Address starts at $14.99/month (varies by location) for 30 items, but open-and-scan costs $2.25 per scan order (up to 10 pages) or $10 for a 5-order bundle. Traveling Mailbox's Basic plan is a flat $15/month across locations, allows business names on any plan, and includes 40 incoming envelopes and 35 page scans per month. If you scan more than one envelope a month, Traveling Mailbox is usually cheaper.

Can I use iPostal1's $9.99/month personal plan for my LLC?

No. According to iPostal1's pricing page, the $9.99/month Personal Virtual Mailing Address plan does not include a company name. To receive mail addressed to an LLC or corporation, you need an iPostal1 Virtual Business Address plan (starting at $14.99/month for 30 items, which includes 1 company name and up to 6 recipient names).

Does Traveling Mailbox or iPostal1 offer a registered agent service?

iPostal1 offers a $99/year registered agent add-on in your Digital Mailbox with any business plan in 25 listed jurisdictions (AK, AL, AZ, CA, CO, DC, DE, FL, GA, IL, MA, MN, MO, MS, NC, NJ, NM, NV, NY, SC, TX, UT, VA, WA, and WY as of October 27, 2026). Traveling Mailbox's pricing page does not list a registered agent add-on.

Are both Traveling Mailbox and iPostal1 classified as CMRAs by USPS?

Yes. Both Traveling Mailbox and iPostal1 are Commercial Mail Receiving Agencies (CMRAs) under USPS Domestic Mail Manual 508.1.8. Both require you to complete PS Form 1583 with two forms of ID, and addresses from both providers carry the USPS DPV CMRA flag. Neither provider's mailbox address can be used as a physical operating address at banks like Mercury, Relay, or Wells Fargo.

How do forwarding fees compare between Traveling Mailbox and iPostal1?

Traveling Mailbox charges carrier postage plus a flat $2.00 per shipment handling fee (not per envelope). iPostal1 displays real-time carrier postage at checkout, consolidates letters for free, and charges $1.95 per package consolidated into a shipment.

How do check deposit fees compare between Traveling Mailbox and iPostal1?

Both charge $4.95, but structure it differently: Traveling Mailbox charges $4.95 per check plus postage to mail the check to your bank. iPostal1 charges $4.95 to deposit up to 5 checks, plus the scan fee and trackable shipping (available at most locations).

Do unused page scans roll over on Traveling Mailbox or iPostal1?

On Traveling Mailbox, unused page scans roll over on the Extended ($25/month, 80 page scans) and Small Business ($55/month, 180 page scans) plans, though not on the $15 Basic plan. iPostal1's base plans do not include page scans, so you pay per scan order ($2.25) or buy prepaid bundles.

Sources

All pricing and regulatory sources were verified on the dates shown below:

AddressAccepted is independent research. Some provider links on this page are affiliate links (see our affiliate disclosure), which never affect our pricing numbers or compliance verdicts. Always confirm current pricing on the provider's website before signing up.